Flowering Osmanthus TeaHaving heard of but never seen flowering teas, I was curious about them.  I had heard that they were very pretty and I thought they’d work well in my new teapot so wanted to try them.  Whilst this is one of the most expensive teas I’ve ever bought, it is still cheaper than buying your tea from most coffee shops.  I bought this from Jing Teas who said that this tea can be infused twice although I tend to infuse it three times and don’t notice much reduction in flavour, meaning I get about 1.5 litres of tea from each bulb!  Infusing this tea twice is not the same as using a teabag twice!

The flower is very pretty.  In the photo the flower hasn’t fully opened, you can click here for a photo of this tea done by Jing Teas.  Mine didn’t open quite as fully as in the photo taken by Jing Teas but that’s probably due to my teapot as it did get stuck slightly.  It’s certainly a very impressive tea and even people I expected the most cynical responses from seemed quite excited by it.

The tea itself is a green tea.  On it’s own it was a very nice tea, it didn’t taste at all bitter and had a nice slightly sweet taste to it.

Jing Teas will deliver free by Royal Mail first class if you spend over £25 and by 24 Hour Next Working Day Courier if you spend over £50.  I ordered on a Friday and received it the next day so I was very impressed with how fast they delivered it.  However, on their main page where they say “Free delivery over £25” they don’t point out that this is over £25 excluding VAT, whereas their prices all include VAT so you actually have to spend a bit more than this suggests to get the free delivery.

