If you’re anything like me, I’m sure you’ll have had times (for me pretty much every late afternoon/evening) where you really want a nice cup of tea but if you have too much caffeine you know you won’t sleep that night.  However, if you’re a fan of more unusual loose teas, you may, like me, find the selection of decaffeinated teas that you can find in the shops a little bit too restrictive.  I mean, just because you don’t want the caffeine doesn’t mean you don’t want a particular cup of tea.

So, what about decaffeinating the tea you already have?  Well, it turns out it’s surprisingly easy, which is good news for those of us that sometimes (or always!) want less caffeine in our tea.  This is probably a good time to point out that decaffeinated tea is not caffeine free, but it is much lower in caffeine.

Here’s how to do it:
1. Pour on the water.
2. Wait for approximately 20-60 seconds (the advise varies and probably depends on the tea).
3. Pour off that water and pour new water on, in the process you will should get rid of about 80% of the caffeine.

If you want more information on this I suggest looking at:
* Wikipedia
*  Heaven of Tea
* Wise geek
* Tea time garden

